CITY AND COUNTY OF SWANSEA

NOTICE OF MEETING

You are invited to attend a Meeting of the

SCRUTINY PROGRAMME COMMITTEE

At: Committee Room 1 - Civic Centre, Swansea.

On: Monday, 29 September 2014

Time: 4.30 pm

	AGENDA	Page No.
1	Apologies for Absence.	
2	Disclosures of Personal & Prejudicial Interest.	1 - 2
3	Prohibition of Whipped Votes and Declaration of Party Whips.	
4	Minutes: To approve and sign as a correct record the Minutes of the Scrutiny Programme Committee held on 1 September, 2014.	3 - 9
5	Scrutiny Performance Panel Progress Report - Schools Scrutiny Performance Panel. (Councillor Fiona Gordon, convener - attending).	10 - 13
6	Final Scrutiny Inquiry Report: Public Engagement (Councillor Joe Hale, convener - attending).	14 - 33
7	Improving Communication and Public Engagement with Scrutiny	. 34 - 49
8	Future Cabinet Member Question Sessions.	50 - 52
9	Scrutiny Work Programme 2014 - 15. includes: 1) Committee Work Plan 2) Progress of Panels / Working Groups 3) Forward Look (Cabinet Business)	53 - 85
10	Membership of Scrutiny Panels and Working Groups.	86 - 98
11 11a	Scrutiny Letters: Letter to/from Cabinet Members for Place and Wellbeing (Service Improvement & Finance Panel Meeting -16 July 2014).	99 - 103 104 - 108
11b	Letter to/from Cabinet Member for Wellbeing (Wellbeing Performance	109 - 114

11c	Panel Meeting - 11 August). Letter to/from Cabinet Member for Finance & Strategy (Service Improvement & Finance Performance Panel Meeting - 20 August).		115 - 119
12	Scrutiny Dispatches - October 2014.		120 - 123
13	Annual Local Government Performance Bulletin 2013-14. (For Information).		124 - 147
14	Future Trends for Swansea. (For Information).		148 - 180
15	Date and Time of Future Meetings for 2014/15 Municipal Year (all at 4.30p.m. except where noted): 27 October 2014 19 January 2015 16 March 2015 24 November 2014 16 February 2015 13 April 2015 22 December 2014		

Patrick Arran

Head of Legal, Democratic Services & Procurement

Monday, 22 September 2014

Contact: Democratic Services - Tel: (01792) 637292

SCRUTINY PROGRAMME COMMITTEE (16)

Labour Councillors: 11

A M Cook	Vacancy
D W Cole	T J Hennegan
J P Curtice	A J Jones
N J Davies	R V Smith
V M Evans	Vacancy
P Downing	

Liberal Democrat Councillors: 3

A M Day	P M Meara
J W Jones	

Independent Councillor: 1

E W Fitzgerald	

Conservative Councillor: 1

A C S Colburn	

Co-opted Members:

David Anderson-Thomas	
Sarah Joiner	
Councillor RA Clay (Gypsy &	
Traveller Site Meetings Only)	

Officers:

Dean Taylor	Director of Corporate Services
Lee Wenham	Head of Marketing, Communications & Scrutiny
Dave Mckenna	Overview & Scrutiny Manager
Brij Madahar	Overview & Scrutiny Coordinator
Democratic Services	
Nigel Havard	Legal
Archives	

Email:

Executive Board	
Cabinet Members	
Leaders of Opposition	
Groups	
Carl Billingsley	

Total Copies: 30